Launch of The Fundamental Principles of EEA Law

EEA Fundamental Principles

On Wednesday 13th December 2017, The Fundamental Principles of EEA Law: EEA-ities edited by Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Carl Baudenbacher, President of the EFTA Court, was launched at an event hosted by the EFTA Surveillance Authority in Brussels.


This book features eleven contributions on the fundamental principles of EEA law; legislative and judicial homogeneity, reciprocity, prosperity, priority, authority, loyalty, proportionality, equality, liability and sovereignty. Written by EFTA Court and national judges, high EFTA officials, private practitioners and scholars, it raises awareness of EEA law and provides insights for EEA and EU law practitioners and researchers. It focuses on the principles at the core of EEA law, some of which are common to EU and EEA law, while others have a specific place in EEA law and some ensure consistency between the EEA Agreement and the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union. It is the only book to focus on the fundamental principles of EEA law.


The event, which was fully booked, included representatives of the leadership of three EFTA institutions, and heard speeches given by Sven Erik Svedman, President of the EFTA Surveillance Authority, Dag W. Holter, Deputy Secretary-General of EFTA, Sir Nicholas Forwood QC, Counsel, White & Case, Anke Seyfried of Springer, the book’s publisher, and President Baudenbacher. The evening continued with a reception catered by Brussels-based Chef Chez Soi, accompanied by refrains from Jazz’ Animation.



Gallery of photographs