## **20**<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Conference



## 20th June 2014

## Programme

09:15	Welcome	Carl Baudenbacher
	Chair: Knut Almestad	
09:30	European Integration	Xavier Bettel
	Discussion	
	Chair: Xavier Lewis	
10:15	The EFTA Court's Judicial Style	Ian S. Forrester
	Discussion	
11:00	Coffee Break	
	Chair: Richard Lyal	
11:30	Taxing Europe: Reflections on the Case Law of the EFTA Court	Alexander Rust
	Discussion	
	Chair: Alberto Alemanno	
12:15	European Courts in Dialogue	Juliane Kokott
	Discussion	
13:00	Lunch	
	Chair: Giuditta Cordero-Moss	
14:30	Chief Justices' Tea Time: To Refer or not to Refer,	Andreas Batliner
	that is the Question	Georges Ravarani
		Tore Schei
 16:15	Coffee Break	Markús Sigurbjörnsson
10.10		
	Chair: Sven Norberg	
16:45	The EFTA Court - A Court of Business Law	Eric Morgan de Rivery
	Discussion	
17:30	Farewell and Reception	

## Speakers

Andreas Batliner	President, Administrative Court of the Principality of Liechtenstein, Vaduz			
Prof. Dr Dr h.c. Carl Baudenbacher	President, EFTA Court, Luxembourg			
H.E. Xavier Bettel	Prime Minister, Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Luxembourg			
Prof. Ian S. Forrester QC, LLD	Partner, White & Case, Brussels			
Prof. Dr Juliane Kokott, LL.M., S.J.D.	Advocate General, Court of Justice of the European Union, Luxembourg			
Prof. Georges Ravarani	President of the Administrative Court of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg; Vice President of the Constitutional Court of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Luxembourg			
Eric Morgan de Rivery, LL.M.	Partner, Jones Day, Paris/Brussels			
Prof. Dr Alexander Rust, LL.M.	University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg			
Tore Schei	Chief Justice, The Supreme Court of Norway, Oslo			
Markús Sigurbjörnsson	Chief Justice, The Supreme Court of Iceland, Reykjavík			
Chairs				
Prof. Dr Alberto Alemanno, LL.M.	Jean Monnet Professor, HEC Paris; Global Clinical Professor, New York University; Editor in Chief of the European Journal of Risk Regulation, Paris			
H.E. Knut Almestad	Former President, EFTA Surveillance Authority, Brussels			
Prof. Dr Dr Giuditta Cordero-Moss	Director of the Department of Private Law, University of Oslo; General Editor, Lov og Rett, Oslo			
Xavier Lewis	Director, Executive & Legal Affairs, EFTA Surveillance Authority, Brussels			
Richard Lyal	Member of the European Commission's Legal Service, Brussels			
Dr Sven Norberg	Senior Adviser, Kreab & Gavin Anderson Strategic Communications Counsellors, Brussels; Former Director, DG Competition, European Commission; Former Judge, EFTA Court			